2021 National Business Awards Winners

Congratulations to our Award Winners!

The Association of Scottish Business Women is delighted to announce the Winners for the 2021 ASB National Business Awards.

High Growth Business of the Year 

Sponsored by Appetite for Business

This award is for businesses that have experienced exceptional growth in sales, profit, market share or employment.

Michelle Milnes, Property Studios Ltd

Highly Commended: Wendy Maltman, The Malting House 

Most Innovative Start-up

Sponsored by AccelerateHER

This award is for start-up businesses that have been trading up to two years in any business sector.

Bronwyn Jenkins-Deas, Isle of Cumbrae Distillers

Highly Commended: Jillian Mullen, The Nectary

Professional of the Year 

Sponsored by Vodafone Business 

This award recognises the qualities of a successful woman in a profession who makes a significant individual contribution to support her organisation to deliver superior performance.

Louise Cameron, ICTS

Highly Commended: Michelle Milnes, Property Studios Ltd

One to Watch 

Sponsored by Seasgair Handpicked Lodges

This award is for those fabulous businesswomen out there that are the rising stars, the movers and shakers, and the ones to watch. You know you will be reading about them in the months and years ahead.

Hannah Lloyd, GLM Architects GLM  Building Surveyors, Architects, Project Managers

Highly Commended: Gin Lalli, Solution Focused Therapy

Family Business of the Year 

Sponsored by Women's Business Centre

Championing the big contribution family firms make to business ecosystem, this category seeks to reward Scotland’s top family-run SME with less than 100 employees.

Karen Somerville, Angel Share Glass

Self-Employed / Sole Trader of the Year

Sponsored by Margarette Bryan

Going solo is tough and we want to celebrate the tenacity and determination of all the solopreneurs and self employed businesswomen on their entrepreneurial journey.

Ruth Micallef, Eating Disorder Edinburgh

Most Enterprising Business

Sponsored by Mint Ventures

Introduced by the Association of Scottish Businesswomen (ASB) in 2003, entrants for this award, are selected and endorsed as the nomination by their affiliate groups.

Lorraine May Aburrow, Feis Rois Ltd

Highly Commended: Lynn McMurray, The Seasonal Touch

Young Inspiring Businesswomen of the Year 

Sponsored by The Town Planner

For the entrepreneurs who have started their business at 30 years of age and under.

Ruth Micallef, Eating Disorder Edinburgh


Sponsored by Smith Wild Photo

This award is designed to support all businesswomen, businesses or organisations who feel they do not fall into the other categories and therefore are often unable to apply and consequently are overlooked, despite their brilliance!

Emma Armstrong, B-able Business Services Ltd 

Best Affiliate Group

This award recognises and rewards the contribution of an affiliated group to the overall success of the businesswomen throughout Scotland.‚Äč

Moray Business Women

Woman of Inspiration - National

This award is for those women who are inspirational at a national level. 

Carolyn Currie, Women's Enterprise Scotland 

Woman of Inspiration - Community Champion

This award is for those women who are inspirational within their community.

Tamara Taylor, Katsize 

Judging Panel

We are most grateful to our panel of independent judges who have deliberated over the application forms and interviewed our finalists:

Alison Henderson, CEO, Dundee & Angus Chamber of Commerce  
Carolyn Currie, CEO Women’s Enterprise Scotland; Operators of the Women’s Business Centre 
Donald Forsyth, Partner, Safferry Champness and IOD H&I 
Gillian Fleming, CEO & Founder, Mint Ventures
Jane Shepherd, Chartered Planning Consultant/Director
Jeanette Stevenston, Head of Education, Training and Assessment, Royal Collage of Physicians of Edinburgh
Judith Thurlow, Director, Seasgair Handpicked Lodges
Julie Hall
Kim Moran-Hogg, Head of Scotland & NI Regional Business, Vodafone Business
Liz Pirrie, Chief Operating Officer 
Maggie Gorman, Business Gateway and Development Director, Ceteris
Marie & Stephen Smith, Smith Wild Photo
Margarette Bryan, Retail Business Mentor
Russell Dalgleish, Managing Partner, Exolta and Chair, Scottish Business Network 
Sheryl Newman, CEO, Appetitie for Business 
Steve Turner, Commercial Director, Cloud Cover IT
Sylvia Baldock 

Thanks to our Award sponsors